Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 1 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 1 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Tribute Penny  (Read 907 times)

Valecrucis

Tribute Penny
« on: February 17, 2014, 01:08:43 pm »
Hi Forum,

I would be very grateful if this Tribute Penny could be given the once over. I am a relatively novice collector and am in no position to assess its authenticity myself. I understand the rudimentary warning signs but haven't the experience to be able to identify them with any confidence. Besides seeing that this coin is over-cleaned I cannot spot anything that immediately makes me worry. I purchased the coin a couple of months ago and initially had no worries. The real reason that I am bringing this coin to your attention is that I recently discovered that some are suggesting the original seller is dubious. He isn't on the Forum notorious seller list and is in fact on some so called 'good-seller' lists (for what that's worth).

Diameter 19mm
Weight 3.39g
DA 180deg

Offline Arminius

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • carpe diem
    • Arminius-Numismatics
Re: Tribute Penny
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2014, 01:52:56 pm »
In addition to your concerns here are mine:

- a porous surface (from casting ?) , looks unusual for an over-cleaned specimen
 - absolutely no sharp details, also looks unusual for an over-cleaned specimen
 - tooled edge (to hide casting seams?)

i may be wrong but - probably a modern cast.

Valecrucis