Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 1 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 1 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: RE::"CORN EAR " VARIETIES  (Read 1686 times)

Offline ADEN c

• Legionary
RE::"CORN EAR " VARIETIES
« on: January 07, 2013, 11:25:34 am »
 Im new to the Celtic coin area  and  ive been very attracted to the  cunobelin style  coins that feature  a horse on one side and a so called " corn ear" on the other usually with the cunobelin inscription  CA  MV  on either side of the  "corn ear"......To me its obvious that this is a head of wheat or similar grain and not what i would call corn. The ancient Celts grew prosperous thru their farming of grains and as far as i know Corn wasnt discovered until the North american First Nations were found to be cultivating it. So it begs the question  why not just call it a head of grain? Maybe its one of those  conundrums of nomenclature that has just stuck and thats all there is to it. Surely it cant be a representation of an  ear of corn?  im guessing that the word corn means grain in old english or something like that but then ive just answered my own question....so heres a further tantalizing question..what is the estimated mintage of the "corn ear " varieties thus far discovered? they must surely be considered rare.

Offline PeterD

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • omnium curiositatum explorator
    • Historia
Re: RE::"CORN EAR " VARIETIES
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2013, 12:22:29 pm »