Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 1 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 1 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Tips for purchasing Uncleaned Coins  (Read 2640 times)

Offline Run

• Consul
  • Horrible Speller & Slug King
Tips for purchasing Uncleaned Coins
« on: September 25, 2007, 10:04:11 pm »
I am new to this hobby as all of us were at one time.  With that said I have purchased over a 150 uncleaned coins from 7 different vendors. My result thus far 85 % unidentifiable not unattributable you cant tell its a coin of anything except it is round. With thas said I must be doing something wrong in my selections or this is approch is a complete waste of time and effort.  Sure they have not been sitting months in there DW or gringotts solution but during this process I also bought a 5X10X15X30 Stereo microscope.

Said microscope arrived today. I began by looking at every single coin I had purchased and it really doesent take an expert to see there was nothing too see. Many of them are so badly coroded you could soke them for a lifetime and still get the same results.  I have bought from several vendors who guaranted no slugs apparently they made little to no effort to actually look at what they were selling.

So please enlighten me to how so many of you seem to get attributable coins from these lots.

This is in no way calling out any vendor from which I may have purchased coins.
There were a few exceptions.