Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. STORE WIDE SALE!!! 10% OFF EVERYTHING UNTIL 3 FEBRUARY Layaway and reserve are not available during the sale Shop NOW and save! Welcome Guest. Please login or register. STORE WIDE SALE!!! 10% OFF EVERYTHING UNTIL 3 FEBRUARY Please call us if you have questions 252-646-1958 Shop NOW and save!

FORVM`s Classical Numismatics Discussion Board  |  Numismatic and History Discussions  |  Ancient Coin Webmasters (Moderator: Sorin Teodor)  |  Topic: Ancient Coin App -- with Screenshots 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Ancient Coin App -- with Screenshots  (Read 2521 times)
rfeiner
« on: October 21, 2014, 08:15:42 pm »

Hello Forvm! I'm new to collecting ancient coins, but I've been really impressed by the posts on this forum. This is a truly great site for the new collector.

This is my first post, so I'll try to make it an interesting one.

I'm a software developer by trade and when I got my first batch of uncleaned coins I quickly hopped online to do a lot of research and identify the coins. While doing this I noticed that a lot of ancient coin websites have great data, but crummy search tools. Many sites, for instance, don't have things like partial inscription searches, ranked searches, and search features specific to ancient coins. I decided to build some software that solved these problems, and soon I'd spent far, far too many hours on it. The resulting product is a Windows application that also runs on Windows tablets (full windows only, not ARM). The core of the application can also be used to create an iPhone or Android app, but I haven't pursued that yet. It's built for browsing/searching Roman coins and It's designed to work off of CSV files, so with minimal effort it's possible to get the app up-and-running on a new data set. Some of the features are listed below: