Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: My First Photographs  (Read 6093 times)

Offline Optimo Principi

• Caesar
My First Photographs
« on: March 31, 2011, 04:48:57 pm »
Hi all,

I am a complete photographic beginner and am using my Canon Ixus 85IS to photograph my collection, slowly but surely. I have dual daylight lamps, a good copystand and the coin is resting on glass. After looking at some of my first efforts I am puzzled by a decidedly green tinge to the coins, denarii which are a lovely silver to the eye look like they've just come out of a pond under the camera. I've tried experimenting with different settings but I can't seem to capture that silver lustre. Attached are a couple of unaltered examples, any ideas/feedback would be much appreciated.

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
    • Ancient Greek and Roman Coins, featuring BMC online and other books
Re: Colour problems
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 05:04:38 pm »
They don't look that green to me, a tiny bit perhaps. The question is now, whose monitor is not properly calibrated?