Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Lamp: authentic or fake?  (Read 6470 times)

Offline mauseus

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • Ah Allectus, my trusted friend.......
    • Later Roman Coinage
Lamp: authentic or fake?
« on: March 18, 2009, 06:45:53 pm »
Hi,

Although I have a few antiquities I am by no means an expert and so I am questioning this broken and repaired lamp that has been in my posession a while.

The design is crude on the tondo, a reflection of modern ignorance of the design or ancient mass production of a cheap commodity.

Any information gratefully received.

Regards,

Mauseus

Offline silvernut

• Caesar
Re: Lamp: authentic or fake?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2009, 07:13:17 pm »
Having 5 or 6 lamps of my own, I've tried to learn a bit about them reading around. From what I gather, a good part of the available lamps on sale today are funerary lamps, made to be interred with the dead, and never to be used (or maybe just only once). These are usually small and crude, and have been preserved, presumably, by being underground almost since their creation.