Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Faked Septimius?  (Read 5767 times)

Offline Jochen

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
  • Omnes vulnerant, ultima necat.
Faked Septimius?
« on: September 13, 2004, 06:00:04 am »
Hi!

I am no expert for fake coins but the beard and the hear look very suspicious to me. I think it is re-cut. And so is the rev. too.

Regards,
Jochen

Offline curtislclay

• Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
Re:Faked Septimius?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2004, 11:19:18 am »
     I think the coin is unquestionably authentic, though on the obverse the head hair above the ear and the beard hair in front of the ear have been re-engraved.
     One can judge the extent of the tooling by comparing other sestertii of Divus Severus with the Pyre reverse, struck from the same obverse die:  BMC pl. 66.7 (overcleaned itself); Stack's Knobloch Sale, May 1980, 904 = Auctiones, June 1978, 789.
     This Emperor on Eagle rev. type is far rarer than the Pyre type that usually appears on the scarce sestertii of Divus Septimius.  The Gorny specimen, despite the tooling,  must be the best preserved of the half dozen or so specimens that I have record of.