Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Patina chemistry and mineralization (warning: science)  (Read 326 times)

Offline Paul B11

• Praetorian
Patina chemistry and mineralization (warning: science)
« on: April 02, 2023, 08:23:25 pm »

Hi all, I am relatively new to the hobby and the FORVM. I collect Byzantine, so commenting here. Thanks so much for all of your help. I do chemistry and physics professionally currently, and I collect minerals and study minerology. I find most discussion on patina with coins to be mostly "unscientific." I get that there is no substitute for practical experience and many people do not want to resurrect high school chemistry for fun, but I find surprisingly little that is technical on this subject.