Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: help ID a couple Byzantine  (Read 1220 times)

Offline mssmall

• Legionary
help ID a couple Byzantine
« on: November 25, 2006, 12:38:39 pm »
I'm working on an uncleaned lot and here are some of the nicer ones.  I'm kind of new to Byzantines and not so great at ID'ing.  I'm guessing the last two might be Constans II.  I have no clue on the first one.  Each is 23mm at the widest point.  Thanks

Offline byzantiumcoins

• Consul
Re: help ID a couple Byzantine
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2006, 04:01:32 am »
very nice !
They are not really Byzantine, but so called Pseudo-Byzantine coins dating from the early Islamic conquest of Syria. ( 7th cent. )
All three are very good examples for this first stage of Arab-Byzantine coinage imitating Byzantine coins of Heraclius and Constans II.
Especially the first one in your row is a fantastically detailed specimen of these mostly very crude issues.

Byzantiumcoins

Offline Howard Cole

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • Elymais forever!
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2006, 07:10:06 am »