Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: NYINC dealer reputability  (Read 804 times)

redbeard

NYINC dealer reputability
« on: January 08, 2010, 01:26:30 am »
I'm a newbie.  One piece of advice I get is to buy fom reputable dealers.  Since I live in NYC, I will go to the coin show at the Waldorf Astoria this weekend.  I expect to learn a lot and maybe buy a coin or 2.   My question is this:

Would I be safe to trust all of the dealers there, or will there be some selling fakes?

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
    • Ancient Greek and Roman Coins, featuring BMC online and other books
Re: NYINC dealer reputability
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 03:27:45 am »
In general at these shows there will be genuine coin dealers selling genuine coins but that does not mean that there won't be the occasional fake coin. No one will intentionally sell fakes. You should not buy higher-value ancient coins from a dealer that has mostly modern coins and just very few ancients. No matter how much experience someone may have selling modern coins it does not mean anything when it comes to ancients, or not very much at least.