Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Bad Verdigris?  (Read 2308 times)

Offline ModernCoinTraitor

• Praetorian
  • First ancient coin
Bad Verdigris?
« on: June 09, 2013, 09:01:58 am »
I am new to ancient coins. After reviewing every coin in the auction house and narrowing my list to two coins (based on interest, price, and beginner notes in the forum), then looking these up in RIC VII and studying the history on each, I became most fascinated by the one I finally purchased. I think it is an awesome coin and finally gets me out of modern coins and the "speculator" collectors. I love the history in these coins. But, I want to know how to care for my coin(s) as well.

[Being new to the forum as well, I've attached the picture since I'm not sure how to include it as part of the post.]

On the reverse are two areas that show the light green verdigris that I commonly associate with bronze disease. This may not be the case here, but I thought I'd ask. On my modern coins, I'd work with this by removing the flaky parts, then soaking the coin in distilled water for 3-4 weeks, changing the water fairly often. Will that work here?

Thanks in advance.

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar