Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Tips on Attributing Philip II Staters?  (Read 1076 times)

Offline Henry S

• Legionary
Tips on Attributing Philip II Staters?
« on: June 22, 2022, 10:16:41 am »
Hi, I'm totally new to this so bear with me. I have a Philip II Stater that I'd like to identify and attribute on my own to see if I can find the correct catalog number, mint, era, and other details. Is there some sort of general guide somewhere? So far I have been "brute forcing" it by going through auction archives.

My stater has only a trident beneath the horse and no other identifying marks. I know I could post a photo and someone could tell me the exact Price # but I'd like to try to do it myself from scratch. It seems like there's 2 mints: Pella or Amphipolis, and at least 2 major eras: posthumous or not. Any tips on how to tell which is which? The only thing I've noticed is that Pella mints horses farther apart with the front hooves at different heights while Amphipolis seems to mint the horses closer together and with the front hooves lined in an upward cascade.

Amphipolis also mints more horse reigns it seems but this may be anecdotal. I understand dies wore out quickly and each one was handmade so it may very well be I never find my exact coin in a catalog, but any tips to help me attribute would be great, thank you!

Offline Virgil H

• Caesar