Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Two large romans  (Read 1762 times)

Brown

Two large romans
« on: June 11, 2009, 07:38:43 am »
Dear friends,

I'm a complete newbie and would like to request your help with these two coins. A friend of mine who isn't much into computers found them with his brand new md the other day. Could you kindly tell me if they're worth anything?

I tried ID'ing on my own but got completely lost...  :-[

Both are 29 mm in diameter. Thank you for your help.

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
    • Ancient Greek and Roman Coins, featuring BMC online and other books
Re: Two large romans
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 07:47:54 am »
Hi!
The first is Caracalla from Nicaea (Nikaia) in Bithynia, a  nice coin, the second is Julian II from Heraclea with a bull on the reverse.
I don't know which goddess is portrayed on the first coin's reverse but others will know.

Andreas

Just to be safe, please don't do anything to the first coin, no cleaning of any sort.
Andreas Reich

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
    • Ancient Greek and Roman Coins, featuring BMC online and other books
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 08:07:20 am »
The Caracalla doesn't seem too common,
no example online.
Not in SNG von Aulock but he doesn't have so many Caracallas from that city anyway.