Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Collecting with no outlay!  (Read 4611 times)

Andrew Cassells

Collecting with no outlay!
« on: October 04, 2006, 12:12:58 pm »
I am new to collecting and have witnessed the joy of buying and cleaning ancients to collect and learn. I have decided i wish to cllect by buying wisely and trading for profit and hence purchasing more coins. I plan to begin by buying uncleans and cleaning and keeping the finer coins and re-selling the lesser coins to make profit and hence buy more coins. it seems reasonably possible, or am i foolishly naive?

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
    • Ancient Greek and Roman Coins, featuring BMC online and other books
Re: Collecting with no outlay!
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2006, 12:20:17 pm »
The latter. There is no profit to be made in cleaning and selling coins, unless you're an expert cleaner and buy really high end coins, i.e. no late roman bronzes.

Andreas
Andreas Reich

Offline Heliodromus

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2006, 12:53:31 pm »