Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Skepsis SNG Ashmol 1194/SNG Cop 475?  (Read 802 times)

Offline Virgil H

• Caesar
Skepsis SNG Ashmol 1194/SNG Cop 475?
« on: January 03, 2021, 10:09:04 pm »
This is my first attempt at identifying a Greek coin It was a very different process than the late Roman bronze. Also my first attempt at macro photography as this one is so thick it doesn't scan well. I need to get better focus, but this seems to be OK.

I think this one is a Skepsis SNG Ashmol 1194/SNG Cop 475. One thing throwing me off is the measurements and weights. Most of the coins like this are much smaller and lighter, but this one seems within a reasonable range of the SNG numbers I came up with.

Diameter is 17mm at widest and 14mm at narrowest, so I would call this AE17. Weight is 3.989 grams, which is less than the reference coin I looked at, which was 4.48 grams. Reference coin is AE15. I have found nothing closer unless I am wrong about Skepsis. Here is where my inexperience really shows. One thing that I noticed was searches for E K brought nothing useful at all. Once I realized it was a fir tree and not a palm, that helped.

Thank you.

Offline Altamura

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
Re: Skepsis SNG Ashmol 1194/SNG Cop 475?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2021, 03:44:26 am »