Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Melqarth  (Read 8570 times)

dolcinus

Melqarth
« on: December 10, 2005, 07:26:45 pm »
Hi to all,
I'm not an expert but I wish to know why on the ancient time in the Temple of Jerusalem was accepted a coin with the bust of Melqarth, and not for example the face of the Roman Emperor.
For an ortodox Jew are both sacrilege images, or not?
Thank you a lot

Offline Ecgþeow

• Consul
    • my gallery
Re: Melqarth
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2005, 11:07:59 pm »
The short answer is that the Shekel of Tyre was the only one that came close enough to pure silver to be accepted at the Temple.  Roman coins at their best were still too debased to be acceptable at the Temple, so they were forced to use the Shekel of Tyre exclusively, as it was the only way of guaranteeing that they were getting the correct amount of silver.

Offline Robert_Brenchley

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • Honi soit qui mal y pense.
    • My gallery
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2005, 05:20:12 am »