Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Athens tetradrachm  (Read 1655 times)

Offline Marc B3

• Legionary
Athens tetradrachm
« on: August 08, 2021, 10:32:59 am »
Hi all.  I'm relatively new to collecting and would like to get your advice on this coin from my collection.  The reason I am asking is because of two things.  One is the pitting (I'm probably not using the correct term) around the face.  Also, the coin is very clean and shiny but there is some dirt encrusted on the reverse.  It just makes me wonder so I though I would put it out there for some feedback.  Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Offline Kevin D

• Consul
Re: Athens tetradrachm
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2021, 01:22:28 pm »
It is sometimes difficult to identify a forgery without having the coin in hand, but in the photos of your coin I don't see anything that leads me to doubt its authenticity. The "pitting" on the obverse that you cite is what I would call flan flaws, which are a property of the blank before it was struck by the hammer and dies to form a coin. In this case, the flaws might have been enlarged and made more evident by the force of the striking. Below is a link to a genuine coin with similar flan flaws.

https://www.cngcoins.com/Coin.aspx?CoinID=300300#

Offline Ron C2

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • Qvod perierat adhvc exstat nvmmorvm