Numismatic and History Discussion Forums > Uncleaned Ancient Coin Discussion Forum

Advice - What is what?

(1/2) > >>

Alistair W:
Hi all,

I'm very new to this and wanted some advice before I go any further. I have a few practice coins and the patina determination is something I would like to hear some input on. So far this coin has soaked in DW for about a week with daily changes and I have removed the large chunks of dirt on the surface and then stopped.

I've tried to annotate some areas where I have some questions.
- The pale blue area with the orange oxide, should this be left as is, or is there value in going deeper? I presume that this is a compromised section of the coin and that it is not likely to improve beyond this?
- The red highlighted area with the darker bronze-tone versus the darker-blue highlighted, more-so copper tones - which is which? The darker tone looks more like the patina to me and the greener area has been where this has been lost?

Thanks for hearing a newcomer out and I hope to learn some more!

Alistair W:
See attached image:

Nathaniel N2:
What I see is an incredibly fragile patina. The light blue looks like the core of the coin, the red area is the highest patina, the blue is skinned patina (some patina remains but the surface is skinned off). I think this coin is more or less done. You might want to heat dry it (not something I've often done and someone else should explain that) and carefully wax it.

Josiah Y: