Resources > Fake Coins and Notorious Fake Sellers

Real or fake Antiochus tetradrachm 3/12

(1/2) > >>

Rick P:
Hi,

I purchased a number of coins from my stamp dealer. I know some of them are genuine and some are not, I'm a bit of a novice and this represented a large spend for myself. I have 12 coins, any help and opinions are much appreciated. A coin I purchased was politely condemned on here some time ago.

Dimensions: 16.67 grams, 29.3 mm

Many thanks in advance.

djmacdo:
The raised rim around the reverse has me a bit worried.

Curtis JJ:
To The Rick, how do you know that some are genuine and some are fake? I haven't looked through all your posts yet, so I don't know if you shared that info somewhere I can't find. But any bit of context is important, since if they're fake, some would have to be pretty good quality forgeries (from the ones I've looked at). Context and history of a coin matters a lot for ancient coins, whether for adjudicating a coin authentic or knowing which techniques of forgery are likely or even possible. Why did a stamp dealer have these?

Many would be valuable enough to justify the cost/hassle of third-party certification. (I.e., send them to NGC.) I'm not a big fan of slabbing ancient coins in general, but there are situations where the service can be very much worthwhile. This is one of those situations.

--- Quote from: djmacdo on February 03, 2023, 10:27:53 am ---raised rim around the reverse has me a bit worried.
--- End quote ---

I see what you mean (around 2 - 3 o'clock, I assume). I wonder if that could be one of those photographic artifacts, like the appearance of a casting seam you sometimes get on photos of ancient silver coins?

If these coins are fakes (I've only looked closely at 1 or 2, and quickly at another 3 or 4), the "fabric" is pretty convincing. Could they be museum electrotypes? (I don't see obviously artificial weathering/toning and they don't look cast; if pressed, the dies look good).