Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Valentinian I RIC help  (Read 593 times)

Derek H

Valentinian I RIC help
« on: December 01, 2021, 05:05:06 pm »
Hello,

I am trying to identify this coins RIC. I seem to have tracked it down to either RIC IX 7a or 15a. I am not sure if this is correct as I am new at this and using online sources. However, this is what I have:

Obverse: DNVALENTINI  ANVSPFAVG

Reverse: SECVRITAS   REIPVBLICAE

*/ P (left field) M (right field)

Mint SIS with characters on either side

2.28 g

I’m trying to use this reference: http://numismatics.org/ocre/results?q=rev_leg_text%3ASECVRITAS%20REIPVBLICAE%20AND%20deity_facet%3A%22Victory%22&start=60

Offline SC

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
    • A Handbook of Late Roman Bronze Coin Types 324-395.
Re: Valentinian I RIC help
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2021, 10:20:02 pm »
Derek,

Welcome to the forum.

RIC-IX has a different approach to this coinage because of the huge number of issues, and therefore field marks, they were struck with.

7a and 15a are both SECVRITAS REIPVBLICAE for Valentinian I.  You then need to consult the chart of field and mint marks which shows that the  :<a href='../numiswiki/view.asp?key=star' target='_blank'>star</a>: P / M /  :Greek_Delta: SISC is part of 15a.

That field mark is given the sub-listing: 15a(xvii).