Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Help with my first ancient coin!  (Read 519 times)

Slvr

Help with my first ancient coin!
« on: May 24, 2014, 02:03:11 am »
Hi. I am fairly new to coin collecting and recently had an opportunity to purchase
My first ancient coin. 
I am having a hard time with identification. Looks somewhat like a Greek coin but I can't find one like it.
Looks and sounds like silver.
15-16 mm
.825 grams
Any info. On origin, era, or links to information will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Offline Pekka K

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
  • ...one coin at a time...
Re: Help with my first ancient coin!
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2014, 02:27:01 am »

Slvr

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2014, 01:23:45 pm »
Thanks! I appreciate the help.

Offline Meepzorp

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
    • Meepzorp's Ancient Coins
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2014, 10:35:40 pm »
Hi Slvr,

Yes, Pekka is correct. It is a Medieval silver coin minted in Genoa, Italy. It is probably a common denaro, but it could be a scarcer grosso-type coin. The city of Genoa started striking coins in 1139 A.D.

The obverse inscription reads: "IANVA". This is an old/Latin spelling of Genoa ("Genova" in Italian). It is a reference to the Roman god Janus.