Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Newbie ask for help on "difficult?)" coin  (Read 564 times)

Offline Roger F2

• Legionary
Newbie ask for help on "difficult?)" coin
« on: July 01, 2014, 06:53:34 pm »
Hi guys!

Im new to collecting coins, and im absolutely loving it! I need some help with a coin though since i cant determine which kind it is.

The coin is 17mm and weighs exactly 2 grams

Is it a dinari? Ae3? As?

Or something else; )?

With regards Roger

Offline ecoli

• Caesar
  • Every coin is sacred, every coin is great.
Re: Newbie ask for help on "difficult?)" coin
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2014, 06:56:30 pm »
Septimius Severus "limes" dinar... basically official or borderline official denarius  made from base metal...

Offline Roger F2

• Legionary
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2014, 07:11:10 pm »
Thank you!

Is it a rare or common coin?

Im guessing its worth less than a official denarius;)?

With regards

Roger

Offline Diederik

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • carpe diem, vita brevis est!
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2014, 01:20:39 pm »