Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: International Shipping of Coin???  (Read 611 times)

Offline Robert D3

• Auxiliary
International Shipping of Coin???
« on: March 13, 2023, 02:08:47 pm »
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the board here but I've been collecting Ancient for about 15 years or so. I recently made a purchase of a Gold Celtic Stater from a European dealer (France) on Vcoins.com and received an email about having to pay customs on the item. I do not know the first thing about going through this process as most of my purchases have been in the US where I am located. Does anyone have any helpful info for a newbie to the international shipping scene?

Robert

Offline Curtis JJ

• Caesar
    • CONSERVATORI: Ancient Coins & Their Provenances
Re: International Shipping of Coin???
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2023, 03:11:15 pm »
Hi Robert,

Yes, I've had exactly this happen a few times. In every case I did receive the coin after paying. Clarification questions: Is the coin already shipped, and has it been stopped by Customs? Who sent you the email: the US Customs, the shipping agent (e.g., DHL, FedEx), the vendor?

(I forget which imports are subject, whether it's over a certain price threshold (maybe >2k or 3k?), but for me it was always gold coins, so it may be a gold import duty?)