Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Shekels of Tyre minted in Jerusalem  (Read 20917 times)

Offline Lucas H

• Caesar
    • My Gallery
Shekels of Tyre minted in Jerusalem
« on: February 27, 2011, 02:32:09 pm »
I admit I am very new to the collection of ancient coins and biblical coins.  However, I have really developed an interest in the biblically related coins, even if I can't read proto-Hebrew for squat (after reading the discussion threads on the same and getting help from aarmale).  I just wanted to give you an idea of my experience base in case this question seems elementary to more experienced collectors.

Of course, I have looked at the shekels of Tyre as an important example of a biblically related coin.  I see some places they are listed as minted in Tyre.  In some places they are listed as minted in Jerusalem.  In some places, like the Forvm, they are listed as minted in Tyre or Jerusalem.  I understand this surrounds the later "KP" types.