Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Cleaning Frustration  (Read 1272 times)

Offline Zachary T

• Legionary
Cleaning Frustration
« on: July 13, 2014, 05:11:18 pm »
Hi everybody,

My name is Zach and I am new to collecting ancient coins. I am a classics major at university with a passion for Republican Rome and the Hellenistic empires it clashed with. I discovered this wonderful hobby while at school; I absolutely love the ancient world and had a revelatory moment when I realized I could actually own part of that world. My collection is, so far, eccentric and small, though I hope to narrow my focus down to collecting coins from the time period I enjoy most: the early second century BC during the Roman-Macedonian and Roman-Syrian wars.

I must say that purchasing cleaned coins has proved far more enjoyable than cleaning them thus far. Cleaning them has, unfortunately, only caused me much frustration. I am a very patient person, but I get very upset when I ruin or make less attractive something that has been in the same condition for two thousand years. If any of you have any advice in how to cope with that horrible feeling I would very much appreciate it.

I'm looking forward to continuing with this hobby and discussing it here at FORVM!

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus