Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Newbie needs guidance - "ROMAN EMPIRE" Denomination Set  (Read 319 times)

Offline Billy C

• Legionary
Newbie needs guidance - "ROMAN EMPIRE" Denomination Set
« on: February 24, 2023, 01:29:02 pm »
Hello everyone,

Not only am I new to the Forum, but I am new to collecting ancient coins.  I am a long-time collector of U.S. and British Coins and now I would like to move into ancient coins due to their historical significance. 

I've decided that I would specifically like to collect Roman Empire Coins (and to start, ones that NGC Ancients would label as "ROMAN EMPIRE").  When I began collecting U.S. and British coins, I started by striving to put together a complete denomination set -- 1 coin of each denomination issued, regardless of the year/monarch.

I would also like to do this with Roman coins -- begin putting together a set of 1 coin of each denomination.  This is where my confusion as a newbie comes in.

I've consulted several books and online guides and I'm still not sure exactly sure what 1 of each of all of the denominations issued would be.  Is there a definitive resource out there that would have an easy-to-understand complete list of the denominations of Roman Empire coins?