Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Tiberius Denarius. Modern Fake, Contemporary Fouree, or Genuine?  (Read 1019 times)

Offline Baron

• Legionary
Hi All,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I've been collecting denarius for a year, but this Tiberius "Tribute Penny" is my first higher end denarius. However, I am aware this specific Denarius is one of the most faked out there, other than Caesar Elephant Denarius perhaps. I don't have many experts in my area, so I am heading to coin forums to get expert opinions. I purchased from an Ancient dealer within an hour of me with a good history, but I can imagine a really good fake could pass through.

Since there is no video player on this forum: https://www.reddit.com/r/AncientCoins/comments/x4bva1/real_tribute_penny_1437_ad_denarius_tiberius/

What are your thoughts on the coin- Does anything stand out? I'd be happy to discuss

Thanks

Offline djmacdo

• Tribunus Plebis 2017
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
  • I love this forum!
Re: Tiberius Denarius. Modern Fake, Contemporary Fouree, or Genuine?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2022, 04:46:42 pm »
Weight?  I only see the obverse.  The sharp edge at the bottom of the obverse bothers me a little.

Offline Baron

• Legionary
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2022, 05:00:08 pm »