Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Better Coin Photos With a Cell Phone  (Read 1176 times)

Offline VOTman

• Praetorian
Better Coin Photos With a Cell Phone
« on: February 15, 2021, 11:40:46 am »
I’m an ancient coin collector…, and I’m also a photographer.

Sometimes I see some poor quality photos posted.  As the coin itself is often well worn a poor photo makes it more difficult to appreciate the coin or even identify it.  There are multiple methods for taking good coin photos with professional cameras.  However, the simple one below works well with cell phone cameras…

- First, clean your coin with a soft-hair brush, then blow off any residue.  If you don’t, dust will be very evident in your coin photos.

- Don’t take photos at night or with artificial lighting.  Use even illumination like that from a daytime window (cloudy or sunny but no direct sun).