Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Complete denomination series?  (Read 4076 times)

Offline Jason G

• Praetorian
Complete denomination series?
« on: January 27, 2006, 03:57:01 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'm new to collecting ancient coins, but I'm having a lot of fun so far.   :)  I was thinking that it would be fun to collect a complete group of denominations.  Is this hard to do?  I would like to do a Roman series but don't know if it is possible and I don't know if my pocket book could handle it.  Would Byzantine be easier, both cost wise and ease of finding the coins?  I'm prepared to go as high as $400 to $500 for the gold coins.   Can it be done on my budget? They don't even have to be from the same mint although it would be nice if the coins were all from the same emporer. :)  Thanks, great site!!

Jason

Offline wolfgang336

• IMPERATOR
  • Caesar
  • Aut Caesar Aut Nullus
Re: Complete denomination series?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2006, 03:03:46 pm »
Rome shouldn't be too hard in this respect... You may have to push your budget a bit of an Aureus though, not to mention some of the rarer gold denominations.

Evan

Offline Jason G

• Praetorian
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2006, 04:40:09 pm »
Thanks Evan,