Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Does this Coin Need More Cleaning?  (Read 1261 times)

Offline Virgil H

• Caesar
Does this Coin Need More Cleaning?
« on: December 27, 2020, 07:52:11 pm »
I am new to cleaning uncleaned coins and am finding that trying to figure out now much to clean is a challenge. This coin pictured below was in pretty good shape to start with. I used distilled water soaks for around three weeks, changing water occasionally, plus a little brushing. Then I soaked for 15 minutes in warm soapy water, rinsed and brushed again and very little working with a toothpick.

The big question is how much more cleaning should I do, if any. I am being as gentle as possible with this. Thanks for any input.

Offline Jay GT4

• Tribunus Plebis 2021
  • Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • Leave the gun, take the Canoli!
Re: Does this Coin Need More Cleaning?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2020, 08:11:14 pm »
I'd say is done.  Looks great as is.

Offline Virgil H

• Caesar
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2020, 08:46:43 pm »
Thank you. On to the next one.

Offline okidoki

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
    • https://www.forumancientcoins.com/gallery/index.php?cat=37270
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2020, 03:39:54 am »
very nice indeed
All the Best,
Eric
There are no strangers, only friends you do not know yet.