Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Minoan coins?  (Read 5227 times)

Offline Equity

• Consul
Minoan coins?
« on: November 29, 2011, 02:07:01 am »
Hello all,

Forgive my ignorance (novice here), but is there such a thing as a Minoan coin? The only references I can find from casual web searches are that they traded with Lydia for coins, but no doubt I'm missing something. Would be fascinating to see what sort of art they came up with, given the examples at Knossos/Crete.
Thanks!
Ars longa, vita brevis, occasio praeceps, experimentum periculosum, iudicium difficile.

Offline cicerokid

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
Re: Minoan coins?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2011, 05:02:13 am »

NO.

The first coins, and people argue what constitutes a coin and the dating , but 600BC +/- 50 years would be OK. The Minoans were on the wane when Thera exploded c 1200 BC and the Mycinaeans sort of took over. Thus a considerable gap of at least 500 years.

The memory and site of Knossos always remained and the site was built many times by many peoples  and the labyrinth put on some coins including the imitation of Athenian New Styles
Timeo Danaos afferentem coronas

Offline Equity

• Consul
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2011, 12:03:32 am »