Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: stater - beginner's question  (Read 2611 times)

boreas

stater - beginner's question
« on: July 27, 2011, 01:54:58 pm »
Hi there,

Very recently, after visiting a museum collection, I started to read about Greek coins (but I am no professional and not yet a collector).

I have a beginner's problem which I haven't been able to solve: in several catalogues, there are coins named stateres and other ones named tetradrachms, but why? I read that the stater is valued to tetradrachms or didrachms, depending on time and place, but I can't understand why similar coins are classified as stater on one page, and as a drachma multiple on the next.

To put it differently, if I wanted to classify a tetradrachm from Athens, why should I call it a stater? And is the difference between tetradrachms, didrachms, drachms and so forth only based on their weight?

I am sorry to bother you all with such simple questions, but I can't find the answers elsewhere.

Many thanks.

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
    • Ancient Greek and Roman Coins, featuring BMC online and other books
Re: stater - beginner's question
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 02:05:08 pm »