Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Curious handless round oil lamp. Frog lamp? Egyptian?  (Read 1369 times)

John B16

Curious handless round oil lamp. Frog lamp? Egyptian?
« on: July 08, 2021, 06:45:47 am »
Hi,

Firstly I've been going through this forum for the past few days and have been blown away by the amount of knowledge shared around here.

Whilst I'm quite new to collecting, I've always been interested in the ancient world.

I recently acquired a pair of oil lamps at a local auction.

I think one of them is North African, about 300-500 A.D. The other one I'm a bit more uncertain about.

From some of my research, I think it might be from Egypt under the roman rule as it seemed quite close to some of the "Frog lamps" I'd seen.

Any thoughts and imput would be welcome.

Like I said, I'm knew and I didn't pay a lot for these so I don't mind if they're fakes.

Many thanks,

Offline Strobilus2

• IMPERATOR
  • Praetorian
  • Ancient Lamps Expert
    • RomQ Collection - Ancient Lamps
Re: Curious handless round oil lamp. Frog lamp? Egyptian?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2021, 08:59:30 pm »
Both of your lamps are authentic.

The lamp without a handle is indeed what is popularly known as a 'frog lamp' (some of them depict frogs). It was made in Egypt during the 2nd-4th centuries AD.