Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Tjaart - Round 14 before and after  (Read 3369 times)

Offline tjaart

• Consul
Tjaart - Round 14 before and after
« on: January 01, 2012, 01:52:17 pm »
Hi all,

I am a newbie to collecting ancient coins and after buying some uncleaned Roman coins on a whim a few months ago, I am hooked. I have learned quite a lot so far from the discussions here and hope to learn a lot more! I decided the best way for me learn about all the aspects is to go through the process of cleaning and learning how attribute a coin. So I decided to enter the contest. Here are the coins as they arrived.

I am looking forward to seeing what emerges form underneath the dirt, especially from coin 2 and 3.

Looking forwards to learning at lot more about this interesting hobby!

Tjaart

Offline Bdsn

• Praetorian
Re: Tjaart - before
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 03:22:05 pm »
2 and 3 look awesome.  I keep hoping a campgate coin will find me, no luck yet.  Grats and have fun  ;D

Justin

Offline tjaart

• Consul
Re: Tjaart - before
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2012, 07:59:54 am »
Here are my results. It was quite interesting learning the cleaning methods and trying to ID the coins.

1. Seems like a Ptolemy with a eagle on the reverse. 7.0g, 21mm.