Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Macrinus Denarius Jupiter Reverse  (Read 835 times)

Offline Crispus

• Legionary
Macrinus Denarius Jupiter Reverse
« on: August 08, 2015, 06:44:28 pm »
Well I'm rather new to collecting and I think I've been duped.  I purchased a coin from ohboykurt on eBay.  I wanted to know more about the coin after I got it and came across this wonderful website.  Now I feel sick.  He is listed on the NFSL and is selling quite a few coins on eBay.  I've attached a picture of the Macrinus.  I guess this is the real eye opener for me to be more careful.  Of course, I'm only assuming it's indeed fake. 

Offline djmacdo

• Tribunus Plebis 2017
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
  • I love this forum!
Re: Macrinus Denarius Jupiter Reverse
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2015, 07:23:13 pm »
It looks bad to me.  Have you checked the counterfeit files here?  Ebay is a minefield of bad coins.  Until you have some years experience and have handled hundreds of coins--and even then really--you only safe bet is buy from ethical, established dealers.  Any hope of getting your money back?

Offline Crispus

• Legionary
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2015, 07:26:15 pm »
I emailed him and this was his response: