Numism > Help For the New Ancient Coin Collector

Decorum and Courtesy

(1/2) > >>

Lucas H:
I've recently had private correspondence with a newer Forum member who feels intimidated to ask questions because of the way in which some of his or her basic questions are answered with ridicule.  

Everyone starts somewhere.  I'm no expert, and I've asked some dumb questions.  But, you know what, now I know the answer.  I don't want anyone to be ridiculed to the point they do not feel comfortable asking appropriate questions on appropriate boards.  What may be basic to me, my not be so basic to Mr. McCabe, or Joe, or any number of other experienced collectors and experts.  

That's the beauty of this Forum.  It brings together novices with experienced collectors to enhance everyone's enjoyment of collecting.  Please keep this in mind when you see what may be a simple question, or a question with a simple answer.  

Joe Sermarini:
The number one rule of this board is be nice.  I think it is followed for the most part.  

When you respond to someone's first post or even first few posts, welcome them to the discussion.  If they say they are a new collector, welcome them to the hobby.

Please do not correct people who break the rules in their very first post. We can get them on the right path a little later.  

Sarcasm and jokes don't always go over well in print.  Don't post sarcastic responses or jokes to new members or new collectors.  Our regulars know you and probably will get it, so save it for them.    

Calling a fake a "tourist fake" or "obvious" can be seen as insulting.  Please consider that when posting.  A fake may be obvious to you, but it probably isn't obvious to a new collector.

If you suspect a troll, inform a moderator rather than making an accusation on the boards.

If anyone else has suggestions on how we can make new collectors more comfortable, please share.    

Hugh A. P: