Numismatic and History Discussion Forums > Coin Photography, Conservation and Storage

Coins&More Cabinets, Thoughts and Opinions

(1/1)

Nathaniel N2:
I have been collecting for about a 8 months now and want a better way to organize my coins, store them safely, and display them beautifully. My collection consists entirely of roman bronze and silver pieces. I have done some searching and I really like the cabinets designed by Coins&More. They are made from birch and fir wood. The trays for coin storage are velvet. They advertise no harmful solvents or glues. As I'm new, I recently came across words like "degassing" and concerns over archival quality of different woods, and not knowing where to look everything went way over my head. I'm hoping I can get some help.

If you use a wooden cabinet:
What qualities should one look for in an ancient coin storage cabinet?
         What wood is safe? Are woods safer as they age?
         How long should degassing, if needed, take?
         Should you store in capsules in the cabinet?
         Anything else I should be aware of?

If you have a Coins&More cabinet:
Have you noticed unnatural toning or damage to any coins caused by storage?
What is your impression of the quality of the cabinet?
Did you have to wait a period of time for the cabinet to degas?

Let me know your thoughts. I'd really like to hear from some of you fine people here before I pull the trigger.

Ron C2:
I don't have a wooden cabinet, nevermind the company you are referring to, but I will say before the advent of plastics, velvet or felt-lined wooden cabinets were the norm for literally centuries and the coins survived just fine - often with very attractive cabinet toning.

I'd say if you like the product, consider buying it, but recognize your coins will air tarnish over time - which is natural - though very different than how coins age in archival plastic flips.

Virgil H:
Ron,