Resources > Fake Coins and Notorious Fake Sellers

The economics of fakes

(1/3) > >>

basemetal:
Please forgive my ignorance as I'm a newbie.  Can someone explain the economics of fakery. 
Granted, a gold ancient roman coin is worth faking, especially if you can do it in variance and volume.  Same to a certain extent for silver, and for other extremely rare coins (Flavian Amphitheatre coins come to mind).
But to produce a product, even fake, is a sort of busness.  You have overhead. That includes, production, advertisment, distribution, even legal protection.   Is it really profitable to produce a fake ..mmm...Honorius considering the amount of effort involved? Or a really fine Valens fake? Considering what you can buy a real, and in very fine condition Valens for, where is the profit? If it's volume, then every third Valens would be fake or suspicious since there are so many real Valens for sale. And from what I've read of this forum fakes are easy to spot. There must be money in it and I may just be too new to the thing to see how.

slokind: