Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Cleaning Persian Helmets  (Read 1781 times)

Offline Sosius

• Caesar
Cleaning Persian Helmets
« on: February 10, 2011, 04:16:17 pm »
Hello,

This is my first time posting to this portion of the Forum, but I assume this is the right place for my query.

I recently bought these 2 Persian helmets for decorative purposes.  I honestly don't know if they are victorian reproductions or the real thing, but both have a bit of surface rust on the outside, and heavier rust on the inside.  The liners have rotted out of both of them (if they were there in the first place). 

I'm wondering how I should clean the surface rust off of them.  My gut is to use something like olive oil or mineral oil with a rag, then maybe apply some renaissance wax to seal them after cleaning.  Does this sound like a prudent approach? 

Any comments on authenticity or sites where I could learn more about the helmets would also be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Cliff
Sosius

My Gallery: https://www.forumancientcoins.com/gallery/index.php?cat=24203
650+ coins and about 2/3 done--I have a coin problem

Offline driekus

• Consul
Re: Cleaning Persian Helmets
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 10:39:43 am »