Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Alexander the great fake coin?  (Read 948 times)

Offline Nicholas M3

• Legionary
Alexander the great fake coin?
« on: February 06, 2022, 03:08:21 pm »
Hi everyone. I am a beginner coin collector and I have just won this alexander the great drachma off of a recent eBay auction and I have grown suspicion that it may be a fake so I haven't confirmed my purchase yet. Since I don't have much experience with ancient coins I would like some help identifying it.

Thanks!
  :<a href='http://www.forumancientcoins.com/catalog/roman-and-greek-coins.asp?vpar=810&pos=0' target='_blank'>Chi-Rho</a>: Niko :<a href='http://www.forumancientcoins.com/catalog/roman-and-greek-coins.asp?vpar=810&pos=0' target='_blank'>Chi-Rho</a>:

Offline Ron C2

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Caesar
  • Qvod perierat adhvc exstat nvmmorvm
Re: Alexander the great fake coin?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2022, 03:15:07 pm »
At best it is a poor condition specimen. I think you should show the obverse and tell us the diameter in mm, weight in grams, and the die orientation.
My Ancient Coin Gallery: Click here

R. Cormier, Ottawa

Offline Nicholas M3

• Legionary
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2022, 03:25:29 pm »
Sorry for not showing the obverse here it is

Offline Nicholas M3

• Legionary