Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Tetartemorion from TROAS, THRACE-MACEDOINE, MYSIE, ... ?  (Read 938 times)

Offline Montmercure

• Praetorian
Tetartemorion from TROAS, THRACE-MACEDOINE, MYSIE, ... ?
« on: February 03, 2022, 12:05:01 pm »
    I am an atypical amateur insofar as I am interested in Greek and Roman monetary history through a recurring mythological character and his attributes : Hermes, Mercury, Turms.

This interest "transports" me from the Pillars of Hercules to the foothills of the Hindu Kush over a period of about 6 centuries, so that I cannot target either a region or a particular period to hold the realy adequate specialized documentation.

I recently purchased the Tetartemorion AR (6mm, 0.17g) attached 1 below

It represents

- on the obverse a Corinthian helmet on the left
    - on the reverse: an amphora and a caduceus framing the symbol Π all within a filiform frame

Regarding the origin, the seller indicated: "Troas Neandria circa 450 BC"

As I was trying to find out more, I found a (small) number of similar coins (6 including mine) in sales over the past few years.

According to sellers, the provenance was:
    - TROAS. Neandria (mine)
    - THRACEMACEDONIA (2)
    - MYSIA – Proconnesus (1)
    - ASIA MINOR. Uncertain (2)