Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Tips to remove encrustations from late roman bronze  (Read 1199 times)

Offline dmar

• Legionary
Tips to remove encrustations from late roman bronze
« on: June 04, 2014, 08:30:12 am »
Hello all,

I am new to cleaning coins and collecting in general so please forgive my ignorance.  I have been buying uncleaned roman bronzes online and cleaning then by soaking in distilled water, which i change daily combined with light brushing with a trimmed down toothbrush. In addition to this I use wooden toothpicks to remove additional encrustation.  I can't for the life of me 'improve' the circled coins in the picture and I was hoping you would be able to aid me with your experience. The red circled coin has a cement like encrustation coating the right side of the obverse which seems impossible to remove.  The black circled coin has a red 'rust' like coating which I can't seem to remove and finally the yellow circled coin has a bump circled by red 'rust'.

They were all found in the same field in suffolk if that makes a difference.

Thanks,

dmar

Offline SC

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • IMPERATOR
  • Caesar
    • A Handbook of Late Roman Bronze Coin Types 324-395.
Re: Tips to remove encrustations from late roman bronze