Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Silver Antoninianus (?) of Philip II  (Read 400 times)

Offline chuy1530

• Praetorian
Silver Antoninianus (?) of Philip II
« on: January 28, 2014, 02:02:51 am »
I have a coin that was sold to me a while back as an antoninianus of Philip II, but it feels very light to me. I'm not an expert though, so I thought I'd ask on here if all the pieces 'fit' for that to be the correct attribution. I have a hunch it could be a denarius, but again, I'm not an expert hence me asking some experts. At the very least hopefully I'll get some education!

Size: 23mm
Weight: 2.65g

Offline Ryan C

• Caesar
  • FESTINA LENTE
Re: Silver Antoninianus (?) of Philip II
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 09:46:20 am »
Very curious. In the small bit of research I have done on this so far, I cannot find a denarius with your reverse listed. You are correct though, it does seem light. I am going to check for a match today as time permits.-Ryan
Ryan Collins, happy member of the Forvm.

Offline curtislclay

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2014, 09:56:28 am »
Those are antoninianus dies, as shown by their size and by Philip's radiate crown on the obverse. So it is an underweight antoninianus. A denarius would have a laureate portrait, and be struck from smaller dies.
Curtis Clay

Offline chuy1530