Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Newbie alert Is this a siliqua?  (Read 520 times)

thoffman1

Newbie alert Is this a siliqua?
« on: March 05, 2013, 05:02:35 pm »
Hi -- I'm an enthusiastic newbie with roman coins. Got hooked after a trip to Rome.  I've been cleaning uncleaned coins (LOTS of them) and found this.  I think it's silver -- it won't hold a patina, seems to act the same as a modern silver plated quarter.  Anyway -- it's about 17-18 mm.  Is this a siliqua?  Can anyone tell me anything about this?  It looks like Constantine and minted in Thessalonica?  Thanks!  Value?

Offline R. Smits

• Deceased Member
  • Consul
Re: Newbie alert Is this a siliqua?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 05:50:31 pm »
Obv : CONSTANTINVS AVG. Laur. hd. r.
Rev : DN CONSTANTINI MAX AVG Laurel wreath around VOT XX
Small bronze (AE3), no silver siliqua...
R. Smits

thoffman1

« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2013, 05:56:56 pm »
Thanks so much for your help

Offline Constantine IV

• Caesar
  • Constantine IV
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2013, 05:59:47 pm »
You were right about the coin being Constantine I and from the Thessalonica mint (mintmark TSεVI).
Only it is not a Siliqua, but an AE Follis, rated Common.

Anyhow, a nice coin.

Best wishes,
Masis
"He who gives himself airs of importance, exhibits the credentials of impotence". ~ Decimus Laberius, 46 BCE

Offline Tony A

• Consul