Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Silver coins in my lot of uncleaned  (Read 9041 times)

Offline Platon

• Consul
  • To show the fly the way out of the fly-bottle.
Silver coins in my lot of uncleaned
« on: October 08, 2012, 01:29:51 am »
I'm new to cleaning coins and I believe I have found a few silver coins in my lot of uncleaned bronze roman coins.

The first coin I am fairly certain is silver. It is about 1cm in size and less than 1mm thin. It has what appears to be some kind of purple/blue-green patina but after soaking in distilled water for over a month and brushing it gently with a toothbrush distinct bright silver spots started to emerge.  The picture below shows it, it is either some kind of metal coin with a damaged patina or a dirty silver coin. I am not even sure if it is roman as nothing like it has shown up in my lots. I don't know what to do with it now.