Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. All Items Purchased From Forum Ancient Coins Are Guaranteed Authentic For Eternity!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. Internet challenged? We Are Happy To Take Your Order Over The Phone 252-646-1958 Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: Are wooden toothpicks guaranteed safe from damaging patina?  (Read 3804 times)

Offline Mr. Earl

• Legionary
Are wooden toothpicks guaranteed safe from damaging patina?
« on: January 26, 2012, 12:05:27 pm »
Hello all,

I am brand new to the hobby of ancient coins and have a beginner's question.

I purchased a lot of 50 uncleaned coins a couple of months ago from an eBay seller. I paid $60 for the 50 coins, and I guess the old adage that "you get what you pay for" is pretty accurate. I've been working pretty steadily at the lot; however, of the 50 coins, I'm guessing that only a half dozen or so will finally produce a coin that can be identified.

So, I thought I would try a smaller lot but higher quality. So today, I ordered one of the 5-coin lots that the Forum Ancient Coins offers for their Never-Ending Cleaning Contest.

So, given that background, here's my question:

Am I safe from damaging the patina if I only use wooden toothpicks to pick at the encrusted dirt and matter that is on a bronze coin?