Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: My first thread - and my first 3 uncleaned coins!  (Read 1953 times)

impreprex

My first thread - and my first 3 uncleaned coins!
« on: May 15, 2011, 02:13:34 am »
Hello folks! Great to be here!

I'm just getting into coin cleaning (ancient, of course). My first order was on Ebay (I hear bad things...) and I purchased 3 uncleaned "Roman" coins...

I don't have pictures of when I first got them, but I have pictures of their progress. If I had only known then what I know now...

So anyways, I just had to stumble upon these:

One was a slug which I didn't even bother to post, but the other two... - Did I really just screw up THAT bad??

Am I to understand the Procopius coin is rare, and the Thrace (Mesembria) is pretty decent as well?!

:-[ :-[ :-[

So for kicks, the last image is of the Procopius coin before I stupidly removed the Patina. It looked so good, but I just did NOT know what I was doing.

Offline areich

• Tribunus Plebis Perpetuus
  • Procurator Monetae
  • Caesar
    • Ancient Greek and Roman Coins, featuring BMC online and other books
Re: My first thread - and my first 3 uncleaned coins!
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 03:40:18 am »