Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: How do I clean this thing?  (Read 1584 times)

Steve W

How do I clean this thing?
« on: February 25, 2011, 09:31:52 pm »
Hello, everybody.  I'm pretty new to ancient coins, so I would like your advice on how to proceed with cleaning the coin picured here.  I've been soaking it in distilled water for some time now, and then brushing it with a soft bristle brush from time to time.  A lot of details are showing that weren't before.  But, when I've cleaned other ones that got to this point, I accidentally removed the patina with overly strong cleaning methods (a Dremel with a brass brush).  Before I ruin this one as well, what's the best method of finishing the cleaning process?  Should it just soak more in distilled water?  Is there a way to brush off the rest of the dirt without depatinizing it?  Thanks for any replies.

Offline mwilson603

• Caesar
Re: How do I clean this thing?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2011, 04:57:22 am »
Steve,
From what I can see of the coin, most of what is left seems to be patina and not dirt.  So in short I am not sure there is much more to clean.