Classical Numismatics Discussion
  Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Expert Authentication - Accurate Descriptions - Reasonable Prices - Coins From Under $10 To Museum Quality Rarities Welcome Guest. Please login or register. 10% Off Store-Wide Sale Until 2 April!!! Explore Our Website And Find Joy In The History, Numismatics, Art, Mythology, And Geography Of Coins!!! Support Our Efforts To Serve The Classical Numismatics Community - Shop At Forum Ancient Coins

New & Reduced

Author Topic: What happened here?  (Read 1650 times)

CB517

What happened here?
« on: February 08, 2011, 07:15:02 am »
Hi everyone!

I'm brand new to ancient coins and coin cleaning -- in fact this is my first coin.  Something doesn't seem right to me here, so I'd like some educated opinions on what I'm seeing.  The pics included are a before and after.

The steps I've followed:

1) Rinsed coins in tap water
2) Boiled coins for 10min in distilled water and Arm&Hammer
3) Soaked coins for an hour in distilled water
4) Scrubbed coin for 30-45 seconds per side using light pressure on a soft bristled toothbrush

What it looks like to me, and I don't feel the scans capture this, is that I've actually scrubbed the detail off the coin.  Under a magnifying glass it seems the relief of the coin is actually flaking off.  It almost feels like there was a soft coating of metal clad to another core.  I don't have enough knowledge yet to know if I'm just destroying the coin via the light scrubbing it got (I'm not afraid to ruin a $1 uncleaned, like I said it's my first) or if I'm seeing a fake (ancient or modern) or if it's something else.

Any experienced insight would be very welcomed here.

Thanks,

Chris

Offline Dino

• Procurator Caesaris
  • Quaestor
  • Caesar
  • Anyone have change for a hemidrachm?
    • My Gallery
Re: What happened here?