Classical Numismatics Discussion Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 01, 2014, 10:23:53 pm
Search Calendar Login Register

Recent Additions to Forum's Shop

FORVM`s Classical Numismatics Discussion Board  |  Resources  |  Identification Help (Moderators: Steve Minnoch, Varangian, casata137ec)  |  Topic: Caligula Denarius 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: Caligula Denarius  (Read 4353 times)
Chris W3
Legionary

« on: September 12, 2010, 05:45:41 pm »

Hello

This is my first post on your excellent forum which I came across researching a coin I found metal detecting in Yorkshire today .

Firstly .......... Hi there ..........

I have been detecting for around 18 months and have found several denarius but I think this one is a bit of a rarity

I would like your advice on the identification and if its allowed on this forum a possible value.

Many Thanks

Chris

Oswaldtwistle ..........Lancashire ........England

Gavignano
Procurator Caesaris
Caesar

"I check Forvm daily, and take a multivitamin."

« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2010, 07:24:46 pm »

it would be a rare denarius of Caligula and Germanicus if authentic, but i'm not sure it is authentic, others will need to chime in.

"May all your campgates be Ticinums"
Chris W3
Legionary

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2010, 07:53:41 pm »

it would be a rare denarius of Caligula and Germanicus if authentic, but i'm not sure it is authentic, others will need to chime in.

Hello there .......... as for the authenticity of this coin I understand there are many reproductions available .......... I personally dug this coin earlier today on a known Roman site ..........